Khagrachhari District

Thana & Upazila :

Dighinala | Khagrachhari Sadar | Lakshmichhari | Mahalchhari | Manikchhari | Matiranga | Panchhari | Ramgarh |

Map :

Dighinala | Khagrachhari Sadar | Lakshmichhari | Mahalchhari | Manikchhari | Matiranga | Panchhari | Ramgarh |

Location: Khagrachhari District (Chittagong division)  is surrounded by the Indian State of Tripura on the north, Rangamati and Chittagong districts on the south, Rangamati district on the east, Chittagong district and the Indian State of Tripura on the west. 

Area: 2699.55 sq km

Temperature: Annual average temperature: maximum 34.6?C, minimum 13?C; annual rainfall 3031 mm. The hills of this region are composed of folded sedimentary rocks. 

Hills & Rivers: Notable hill ranges Alu Tila, Bhanga Mura (416.66 m), Matai Pukhiri (213.36m), Matai Lakho (274.32 m); main rivers are Chingri, Maini, Feni and Halda; lake Mataipukhiri (Debotar pukur). 

Khagrachhari Town: It was established in 1860 by Remrochai Chowdhury. Khagrachhari town consists of 9 wards and 61 mahallas. It has an area of 67.99 sq km. The town has a population of 39654; male 57.20% and female 42.80%; population density per sq km 583. Literacy rate among the town people is 50.3%. 

Administration: Khagrachhari subdivision was turned into a district in 1983. The district of Chittagong Hill Tracts was established in 1860 under the 'Frontier Tribes Act 22 of 1860'. Following the district of Chittagong Hill Tract Regulation Act the Chittagong Hill Tract was divided into three subdivisions (included Khagracharri) in 1900. The Khagrachhari Local Government Legislative Council was formed in 1989 (in accordance with the Khagrachhari Hill Districts Council, Act 20), which, on the basis of the historic 'Chittagong Hill Tracts Peace Accord', was turned into Khagrachhari Hill District Council on 2 December, 1997. The district consists of 8 upazilas, 34 union parishads, 123 mouzas, 953 villages, one municipality, 9 wards and 61 mahallas. 

Upazila:The Upazilas are Dhinala, Khagrachari Sadar, Laksmichamari, Mahalchari, Manikchari, Matiranga, Panchari and Ramgarh.

Archaeological heritage and relics: Rajbari of the Mong Circle and Dighi (large pond) of Dighinala (excavated by Gobindo Manikko exiled king of Tripura). 

Historical events: The Chittagong Hill Tracts was under the reign of the Tripura State, the Arakans and the Sultans in different times before it came under the control of the British East India Company in 1760. Although the British got the authority of the Chittagong Hill Tracts in 1760, they had no authority besides collecting nominal taxes. Until 1860, two kings or chiefs governed the internal administration of this region. In 1860, another 'circle' was formed in present Khagrachhari district, inhabited by the Tripura population. The chief or the Raja of this circle was selected from the minority Marma population. The 'circle' was named after the Tripura dialect the 'Mun Circle', but later, the 'Mun dialect', was changed and renamed as 'Mong Circle'. In 1900 the British offered independent status to Chittagong Hill Tracts recognising the culture and language of the hill tracts population. But during the Pakistan period this status was abolished, which created anger among the hill population. Moreover, due to the construction of the Kaptai dam in 1960, thousands of people became homeless and refugee. At this perspective the hill population revolted claiming autonomy. Through the Chittagong Hill Tracts peace Accord on 2 December 1997 this problem was resolved. Marks of the War of Liberation Mass grave1, memorial plank 1, memorial 2.

Population 524961; male 52.39%, female 47.61%; Muslim 47.45%, Buddhist 35.51%, Hindu 16.69%, Christian 0.27% and others 0.08%; ethnic nationals: Chakma, Tripura, Marma, Santal, etc. 

Literacy: Average literacy 26.3%; male 34.6% and female 16.9%. 

Educational institutions: college 7, high school 41, junior high school 25, government primary school 320, non-government primary school 125, kindergarten 5, vocational school 1 and madrasa 44. 

Noted educational institutions: Khagrachhari Government College, Khagrachhari Government High School, Ramgarh Government Degree College and Khagrachhari Government Girl's High School. 

Newspapers and periodicals: Present: Daily Aranno Barta, Weekly Parboti. 

Cultural organisations:  Public library 1, cinema hall 11, women's organisation 29. 

Main occupations: Agriculture 38.28%, agricultural labourer 19.45%, wage labourer 9.04%, commerce 8.45%, services 9.01% and others 15.77%. 

Land Property: Land use Total cultivable land 40174 hectares, fallow land 8289 hectares; single crop 52.13%, double crop 35.38% and treble crop land 12.49%. Cultivable land under irrigation 6138.4 hectares. 

Value of land The market value of the land of the first grade is approximately Tk 6000 per 0.01 hectare. 

Main crops: Paddy, corn, ginger, turmeric, pineapple, til (the seeds of which yield a fine oil). Extinct or nearly extinct crops Maiguru, maibidi, sanki, manoful, chikon kuichari and maime. 

Main fruits: Papaya, pineapple, jackfruit, banana, mango, batabi labu (shaddock), litchi, coconut, lemon.

Communication facilities: Roads pucca 296.36 km, semi pucca 261 km, mud road 1226 km; waterways 346 nautical mile. Traditional transport Elephant (extinct), horse carriage (nearly extinct) and boat. 

Mill & Factory: Manufactories Rubber processing plant, rice mill, flour mill, sawmill, etc. Cottage industries Weaving, blacksmith, potteries, wood work, bamboo and cane work, tailoring. 

Hats, bazars and fairs: Total number of hats and bazars are 47; noted fairs: Jur Maram Shiva Mela, Dighinala Shiva Mela, Matapukhiri Mela (Chaitra Sankranti), Ayodhya Bauddho Mela, Hindu Thrash Mela, Dol Jatra Mela. Main exports Rubber, cotton fabrics, ginger, turmeric, pineapple, wood. 

NGO activities: NGOs are MSF, BRAC. Proshika, Anando, STEP, IDF, FPAB, YWCA, SAP, Trinomul, Pagoriko, Kabidang, Padokshep, Alo, HWA, RSS, ICPA, PBM, Green Valley, Marvibal, TLA, Parbatta Buddhists Mission, Anathalaya. 

Health centres: Zila sadar hospital 1, upazila health complex 7, family planning centre 16, union health centre 13, child and maternal centre 3 and health centre run by simantobihin health care centre 2.